The King of 42nd Street Meets the King Of Somewhere Hot

That’s what I’m calling the chapter in Jimmy Buffett FAQ: All That’s Left To Know About America’s Favorite Calypso Poet that tells of role Jim Croce played in Buffett’s life.

In the way of doing research, I ended up in San Diego’s Gaslamp District being joined during dinner at Croce’s Restaurant by Ingrid Croce and her husband Jim Rock (one of those guys, that when you look at him you think, “Man I’d really like to know this guy).

We all know, that Buffett’s friend Jim Croce’s tragic death ironically had a way of catipulting Jimmy’s career, but there hasn’t been a lot more written about this. And that’s one of the really cool things about writing Jimmy Buffett FAQ, I get to address all the great stories that have been passed over or simply brushed aside.

I’m excited to announce, that Ingrid will either be writing the Forward to my book, or contributing to one of the 4 or 5 vignette stories I call YHTBT Moments. Either way, we’ll all learn more about the Croce/Buffett connection.

So, that brings us to this morning, where, when I was doing some research on Jim Croce which lead to good old YouTube. Then it was a case of going “Down the Rabbit Hole” visiting other Folk/Rock Legends…Watching Videos of:

The King of 42nd Street

Arlo Guthrie

and

Gordon Lightfoot

Now, that’s what I call a Saturday Morning well spent. Each of these talented musicians played a roll in the development of Jimmy Buffett’s career. I’m really looking forward to learning more about all of these guys, and sharing it with all of you in my upcoming book or on my other Buffett related web site Surfing in Jimmy Buffett’s Wake.

Leave a Reply

